Many problems at Western University of Health Sciences Osteopathic COMP Pomona

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JLWesternU2016

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a female DO student at Western University of Health Sciences in Pomona, CA class 2016. I would like perspective students to be aware of numerous problems that the school won't be upfront about. You need to be aware of these before you make a decision to attend.

About the classes:
· We are largely on our own for learning here (lack of access to teachers, limited tutors, disorganized labs, confusing lectures, and overall disordered resources). They tell us to find a study group with other students (which doesn't help all that much because they are trying to learn the material as well).
· We hardly have access to the professors. We are told to ask questions online but quite a few don't get answered. Most teachers do not have office hours but some are willing to meet if they are around their office or maybe with an appointment.
· Some of our classes are televised from our satellite campus in Lebanon, Oregon (presumably to cut the school's costs). One teacher we had was bad. They sent us study guides that had incorrect information and misspellings (such as mixing up sympathetic and parasympathetic- kind of a BIG difference!). Many students downloaded other teacher's lectures about the same topics because it was so bad. It was frustrating to figure out what we needed to know about this topic.
· Many students spend more time trying to figure out what we need to know and deciding the most efficient way to learn it than actually learning the material itself. The disorganized material is time consuming to sort through.