Masters degree help?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JohnNorris

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an undergraduate at a 4 year college. I am doing some research I enjoy right now. I am thinking about going my masters before going to med school. Would this help my chances of getting in a better research med school or is it irrelevant?

Members don't see this ad.

I have given it serious consideration. I am not totally decided yet. I really enjoy working with patients. I thought the masters could help decide this.?.

Members don't see this ad :)
Irrelevant unless you need the research experience for an MD/PhD program. If that is your goal, however, it is relevant to note that many MSTP's have a higher MCAT average.

Here is what adcoms want to see--strong performance during undergrad with emphasis on science classes and prereq's, solid MCAT, and experiences that show you are dedicated to a career in medicine. Interviews carry variable weight. Research may help a little bit, but it's not as important as GPA or MCAT by a long shot if you are applying for a straight MD program.

Your graduate GPA would be computed separately, and you would have to get permission from your graduate school.

Unfortunately a strong showing in graduate school does not seem to correlate with medical school success according to adcoms.

I have given it serious consideration. I am not totally decided yet. I really enjoy working with patients. I thought the masters could help decide this.?.

How is a Master's going to help you decide if you like working with patients?