Masters Degree or Med School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CRCPenn

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a postbac student (having graduated in good academic standing with a BA in English lit in '07). I am currently working FT in clinical research one of the Ivy League institutions and completing my prereqs concurrently (also in good academic standing). I have the option of pursuing conditional acceptance/linkage through my program or taking an additional year off and doing a one year masters in bioethics at the University where I am currently employed and then applying to a wider range of schools.

How/Where do admissions comittees factor in graduate GPA?

Will the extra year help/hurt my chances at admissions?

Specifics about credentials can be furnished upon request.

Thanks in advance for your time and consideration in addressing this matter.

W

Members don't see this ad.

IIRC, your cumulative GPA will include all undergraduate, postbac, and graduate work together. I think they will still be able to see your individual GPA's from each institution and level, but the reason a lot of people go into a postbac in the first place it to raise an uncompetitive science or cumulative GPA. Your postbacc program should've improved your chances of admission if you did well in it (the research experience helps as well).

If it were me, I'd pursue that conditional acceptance, especially if your post-bac program is some sort of pipeline into the medical program. If you fail, you'll find something else to do that will help your application (more research, a low-level hospital job, a different masters program). It's weird that you have to choose one or the other--are you sure you can't pursue the conditional acceptance and apply for that bioethics masters at the same time (using the masters program as a backup)?