Master's degree prior to admission?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

necta

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, this is my first time posting on SDN so I don't know what to expect but here's my question.
My undergrad GPA is horrible, and I don't mean in the lower 3.0s, it's in the lower 2.0s. However, I do have a great desire to get into med-school and think that I have plenty of other credentials to support my desire. Lately I have thought of starting a graduate program to add something good to my application and have something to fall back on in case things don't work out. Is there a preference for a particular degree that would be impressive and what do schools think of online degrees? I have been considering Public Health Administration, Masters of Public Health, and some Psychology M.S.'s. Please reply with any comments and/or suggestions. Thanks a lot!

I would also like to add that I am planning on taking a post-bac pre-med program somewhere along the way....

Members don't see this ad.

With an undergraduate GPA in the low 2.0's it is very unlikely that you would be accepted to a medical school in the U.S. Unfortunately, the standard application used for medical schools does not combine graduate and undergraduate classes. Many medical schools screen applicants using overall undergraduate GPA, science undergradaute GPA, and MCAT scores and little emphasis is placed on graduate GPA.

It might be best to take upper level science undergraduate courses; enough to improve your undergraduate GPA to the acceptable range (above 3.0). Even at this level, admission to medical school can be difficult. A masters degree in public health, psychology, or public administration are nice to have but would not overshadow your poor undergraduate GPA.

Thanks for the reply MPP! I forgot to add that I will be doing a post-bac pre-med program to highly improve my sciences grades....