Masters in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted896822

Hello. So here's a preface to my question:
I, personally, am not interested in pursuing a degree in psychology as I am a pre-med student that, at this time, is accepted to a DO school and I am actually here to gain some insight for my significant other.
My girlfriend will probably end up moving with me for school and is concerned with pursuing a PhD as her end goal. As of now, the college local to the DO school offers a masters in clinical mental health counseling. She is interested in clinical psych., developmental psych., or counseling psych. PhD programs, which she will pursue once I am finished with school and we are able to move around.
Obviously, many PhD programs are interested in research experience, which she does not have at this time (she is graduating in a month or so). My question is, can she participate in research as a clinical mental health counselor through a a practice or facility that participates in such or is this something that is not practical? The alternative is a general psych. masters near where we live now, which would put us >4 hrs away from each other, which is obviously not optimal.
Is it possible for her to be successful in pursuing a PhD after completing a masters in clinical mental health counseling and practicing for a few years? Would an online masters be useful at all?

I apologize for any ignorance in the process and hope that you guys can provide some insight into what the optimal solution is.
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello. So here's a preface to my question:
I, personally, am not interested in pursuing a degree in psychology as I am a pre-med student that, at this time, is accepted to a DO school and I am actually here to gain some insight for my significant other.