Matched Mid Tier University Diagnostic Radiology and Transitional Year w/ Failed PE AMA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Radagion

Reaction score
I matched Diagnostic Radiology and a Transitional Year. I have lots of time to answer questions before starting residency and would love to help those interested in matching Radiology. I am a DO student with high 230's step 1 and step 2 and high 500's on Comlex 1 and 2. I failed complex PE the first time but had a passing score before applications went out, no other red flags. I had lots of volunteering with underserved communities and peer mentoring. I had a couple of leadership positions. I did have some non-radiology research with poster presentations but no publications. I was in the top quartile of my class and had great letters of recommendation from local community doctors as I did my rotations in a rural area and did not do any aways. I received great feedback about my personal statement. I applied broadly as I was concerned with the PE failure (~ 80 DR 40 prelim) and received 27 DR interviews attended 19 and received 18 prelim interviews and attended 11. I matched my number 1 Transitional Year spot and my number 3 Radiology spot. I am very happy where I ended up and should have ranked it number 1 in hindsight. Let me know if you have any questions.

Members don't see this ad.

• Wow
Reactions: 15 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Did you have a radiology rotation letter?
Yes, I did two radiology rotations in the community hospitals where I did all my other rotations and got to rotate with two private practice groups that worked with those hospitals. It was a great learning experience and I got what I was told was a great Radiology letter. My other letters were IM critical care/pulm and an IM doctor I rotated with who did outpatient only.