Math/science GPA Kinda long

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JennyMed

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi my name is Jenn and I am new to the fourm. I know that math and science GPA had been discussed plenty of times before, but I really need some advice. I am a sophmore and a Biology major. As of now my math and science GPA is at a 2.76. I have taken Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, College Algebra, Trig and now I am in Calculus I. I had to take 2 classes over because I made a D in both (Chemistry I and Trig) but I made a B in my Chemistry retake and Made an A in the Trig retake. Here are the rest of my grades
Chem I-C
Chem I lab-C
ChemII-B
ChemII Lab-B
Organic I-C
Organic I Lab-B
Organic II-C
Organic II Lab-A
College Algebra-B
PreCalc-B
Trig-A
Now I am in Calc and I have a C average in the Class and I need to make a B by the end of this semester. I haven't taken any Biology and Physics yet and I will go on to Calc II. Do you think it's a little to late for me? Can someone give me any advice on what to do?
Thanx.

Members don't see this ad.

I won't pretend to be an expert, but I've asked a lot of the same questions so here is some of what I've learned: <br><br>
Medical school admission is extremely competitive. MANY people with much better grades than you will be trying to get in. However, many with similar grades have been accepted, too.<br>
Grades are not everything. Doing extremely well on the MCAT would help you tremendously. There is still time to prepare for that.<br>
Many people have done worse than you and went on the a post-bacc masters program (2 years) then been accepted to medical school.<br>
There is less competition in D.O. schools as opposed to M.D. schools. You may find more opportunities for acceptance there with lower grades.<br>