Mature Student with Low Scores on the DAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dan

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have only taken one class and that was my Chem 1000 ten years ago. I thought that I would challenge the DAT before starting on my remaining course work. I have about six or seven courses that I need to complete so I have the prerequisites done. I have a Bachelors and a Masters in Clinical Social Work and have been practicing for five years since my graduate work. The scores I received yesterday were:

PAT-18
QR-10
RC-15
Bio-11
GC-13
OC-9
Total Sc-11
AA-12

I know that I will re-write the DAT after I complete my coursework as I did not have any prior knowledge except for one course in Chemistry. I am applying to Detriot, Nebraska, Mid-western and Saskatewan (In Canada). I know I probably don't have alot of hope for this cycle but I thought that I am not getting any younger at the same time. I appreciate any feedback.

Thanks for your time,

Dan

Members don't see this ad.

you need to finish your science pre-reqs and do well in all of them so you can leave with an understanding of the core sciences. I think it was a wrong move to just take the DAT to see how you'll do because those scores are very low. With having a bachelors and a masters, you will definitely will have an advantage as long as you ace your pre-dental pre-reqs.

Wait until you finish those courses, study a month or so then retake the DAT. Make sure you use the forum to search for study materials and get tons of practice before you retake it.

Good luck.

This Dan guy can't be for real..Why would you take the DAT without all of the pre-req courses behind you? Good luck and God bless!!

Thanks for the advice. I plan on re-taking the DAT when I complete my courses. I thought that I would take the DAT as I am not getting any younger I would rather be in this admission cycle then next for sake of time. Thanks for the input!