Maybe a better spot for this. Second thoughts about BSN? Medicine calling me!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sgp

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I posted this in the main pre med but think this may be a better spot.

I am hoping that someone here has experienced or is experiencing something like what I am. I am in my last semester of pre-requisites for my BSN program. I applied in February to the BSN program and will find out around May 16th. I have a 4.0 in my sciences and about 3.7-3.8 overall and got a surprising 95.9 on the TEAS (entrance exam). Sounds great right? Well at first yes, but now I'm seriously questioning everything that I've worked for. Since last semester I've been trying to decide if I have the strength and time for med school. I have two kids and am separated from my husband. We are working on things now, going to counseling etc, and things are really getting a lot better. Point there is that I don't know if I'll have to support system I'd need to go through 9 years of school and residency.

I've been reading this site forever it seems, and have read a lot about the differences between nursing and medicine. I know I'm not one bit interested in nursing theory. Anyone out there have any insight? I don't think I would be satisfied by nursing. The more science classes I take the more I love the idea of medicine. I have a huge curiosity about diagnosing, decision making, and possibly being a surgeon. I’m honestly more into the science of life than actual bedside care taking.