MCAT: 27O Looking for DO school suggestions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NiNfus21

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated from NYU with a biochemistry major and a math minor. I am a reapplicant (had to withdraw my primary app after receiving a 22M). This cycle I submitted my primary app at the end of July and got back my mcat score today (August 9, 2011)

cGPA: 3.733
sGPA>3.733
MCAT: 11 PS, 6VR, 10BS (27O)
I am not willing to take the mcat again and want to finish applying this cycle.
*I have above average Voluntary/clinical experience..some leadership experience and good shadowing experiences
*Great LORs
*1 year research at NYUSOM

I would love to get into an MD program. but that seems tough. my verbal score is a killer. Which DO programs should I apply to? I am a NY resident. here are some of the schools I am looking at

NYCOM, LECOM-PA, Tourocom-NY, UMDNJ, MSUCom, PCOM

Members don't see this ad.

forgot to mention: I will be submitting my AACOMAS app in the next few days.

Members don't see this ad :)
"I would love to get into an MD program. but that seems tough." DO adcoms will see/smell/feel/hear this from a mile away. Having grades and an MCAT score within the typical acceptance range at most DO schools does not change the fact you are competing with students with higher scores, more experience, and a well-articulated dedication to the profession of osteopathic medicine. You didn't mention specifically if your clinical experience/shadowing was with a DO or if you have your LOR from one, but it will be difficult to gain acceptance without. Make sure you can honestly convince yourself, and the adcom, a DO school is where you want to be.