MCAT advice PLEASE HELP ME!

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by DoctorFeelGood, Jun 14, 2000.

1. DoctorFeelGood

DoctorFeelGood Junior Member

Hi~ I took the April MCAT... I received my scores and I didn't do as well as I wanted to. I took Princton Review last semester, and now I'm taking it again. I'm horrible at Verbal, but I also wouldn?t mind boosting up my BS & PS sections a few points. What advice do you have for me? How should I study? What should I do? I want roughly about a 28-32...

Thanks, Good Luck to everyone!

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. RKK

RKK Junior Member

I'm also in the same boat. I took the August MCAT last year and I'm re-taking it this coming August since I'd like to boost my PS. I took Kaplan the first time and I'm taking it again this year. My advice would be to do as many practice tests as you can AND to look at the answers and explanations to the questions you get wrong. Also, I'm studying with a friend this year and I'm finding that it's really a big help.

Good luck!

4. Djanaba

Djanaba Senior Member

Another idea, too: get yourself an MCAT prep book that's *not* Kaplan or Princeton Review. Do it on your own; including the practice tests and chapters and self-evals. They will ask slightly different questions, give different explanations, and likely help you get a better, more well-rounded grasp on the stuff. It certainly won't *hurt* your score!

5. youngjock

youngjock Banned
    Banned

I have been reading this forum a lot lately.

I think that we need more medical schools. yes, a person can improve his/her own mcat, but that is not the point. I suppose every normal person can do that. Why does a person have to wait for another year or two so that s/he can improve her/his mcat score?

It is the still the same person with the same physical body, and brain. medical schools are blinded by mcat, gpa. of course, there are so many of us applying.