Mcat and relationship stress

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gotgame83

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Cmon guys I cant be alone on this one lol. I mean we all have challenging majors, my major is biochemistry/molecular biology. Its pretty involved at times, spending long hours in the lab, tutoring for extra money and studying often. Well my girlfriend is normally very supportive, she has been for 3 years. Well finally mcat studying came up. For the last 12 weeks i have been commiting most of my free time to studying while only driving to see her (1 1/2 hours away) about twice a week. So two days ago i got "the talk." It went something like this, " your just always so busy, is this how medical school is going to be, your just going to be studying all the time and doing doctor stuff, I dont think we can be together?". See shes a theatre major, not exactly something that requires lots of library time lol. Cmon guys/girls how many of you are going through relationship problems due to the mcat?

Members don't see this ad.

gotgame83 said:
Cmon guys/girls how many of you are going through relationship problems due to the mcat?

i have no more friends, they all hate me because if i am not studying for the MCAT i am talking about it. they have stopped calling/emailing. my best friend/roommate is also taking them and she and i spend hours upon hours talking about tests, books, etc...we have only talked to each other the WHOLE summer about the MCAT. don't even get me started on a "special" guy friend, its a big ole mess and a half...

MCATs have taken my soul, my money, and my social life :mad: