MCAT - CARS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sneaky Sloth

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

So I am planning to take my MCAT in mid-May and I am currently in a state of distress. I started studying in December, and while I have seen my scores improve in C/P, Bio, and P/S, I have been consistently doing poorly in the CARS Section.

I bought my books from The Berkeley Review, so when I reached out the community, I was told that their CARS book is generally convoluted and unrepresentative. So I was recommended the EK101 book. In the few weeks that I have had this book I have probably done around 40-50 of their passages, but performing only slightly better. Attached is a picture of my 5 most recent attempts at these EK101 passages and their respective breakdown.

When I first starting studying for CARS, I would do all 9 passages at a time, under timed conditions. I actually would make the time limit, but I would only get ~23 right, so not very good. I switched to only doing a couple at a time and trying to focus more when I got the EK101, which is what I think improved my score a little, but I have reached a plateau.

At this point, I will take any resource/advice/tip/suggestion/etc. that I can get. I have read the 30-day CARS strategy from TestingSolutions as well, which also helped when I transition to EK101.

Thank you for your time.

Members don't see this ad.

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2020-03-10 at 11.59.49 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-03-10 at 11.59.49 PM.png
    67.8 KB · Views: 144