MCAT/GAMSAT preparation for Non-Traditional Pre-Med Students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DEFINATELY

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I graduated in Computer Science with a 3.68 GPA long in 1995. Currently, after working as a Computer Consultant for several years, I’m a full-time high-school teacher. I always wanted to become a doctor, but for many reasons I couldn’t pursue it. Recently, I’ve decided to finally go ahead and at least give myself a fair chance to get into a Medical School.
The biggest problem I have now is preparing for my MCAT (or GAMSAT) exam. I took 3 courses last semester (Biology, Inorganic Chemistry and Physics), but I see the MCAT material and it seems impossible! I don’t know how to prepare for it.
Has anyone been in my situation? I would appreciate any advise and/or ideas!!!
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Hello, I graduated in Computer Science with a 3.68 GPA long in 1995. Currently, after working as a Computer Consultant for several years, I’m a full-time high-school teacher. I always wanted to become a doctor, but for many reasons I couldn’t pursue it. Recently, I’ve decided to finally go ahead and at least give myself a fair chance to get into a Medical School.
The biggest problem I have now is preparing for my MCAT (or GAMSAT) exam. I took 3 courses last semester (Biology, Inorganic Chemistry and Physics), but I see the MCAT material and it seems impossible! I don’t know how to prepare for it.
Thanks

Hello Definately,

I am in the same spot you are. Graduated with a degree in CS and have working as a professional for the last 8 years. Let me see if I can give you a few suggestions.