MCAT/GPA + age=game of death?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OMTjedi

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I took the April 97 MCAT and scored a 10V,8P,6B. My main concern was the biological section but my science GPA was 3.6. I graduated with a 3.4 overall this May with a BS in Genetics and Cell Biology at the young age of 21.

My first concern was the MCAT/GPA scoring problem and then it hit me when I looked at the average age of the entering DO applicant: approx. 27. I must have been one of the 2,000 people that failed to apply last year and caused the #'s to go down by 10.7%.

I decided to take a year or two off and regroup my decision and life goals. Once Merck, Pfizer, and Johnson&Johnson looked at my resume they sent me home and told me to go apply to medical school. So much for trying to find a real world job with a pre-medical resume.

So on the side I'm taking night classes to become a nationally registered EMT-Basic.

I really am interested in the OMT aspect of Osteopathic Medicine. I have read case studies, been a member of pre-SOMA for a few years now, worked in an ER for a year,and shadowed a half-dozen DO's who actively use OMT in there practices.

Before being turned on to the DO difference I was very excited about chriopractic manipulation. My main turn off on chiropractic was there complete lack of use and sometimes respect for DRUGS. Also the overuse of mantras like "subluxations are the cause of disease" or "innate intelligence from GOD causes baby's to breath for the first time, its not the CO2 buildup!" Welcome to earth my friends?

I belive DO's have a great advantage over MD's and DC's in that they are on the cutting edge of preventive medicine with OMT and have the same tools as allopathic physicians.

Now that I got that out in the open.