Aug 19, 2020
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
Hi guys I'm glad I found about this form now. I graduated from physical therapy assistant program last year. I had recently decided to switch to medical school. I just received my books from Kaplan but I need advice on how to study. This up coming fall semester I will start with my bio class: Organisms, Genes, Ecology and General Chemistry. So ya I have not taken the pre-classes to have an idea what will be on the mcat. I will be studying for my mcat while taking those classes at the same time. I have about 7.5 months until I can take it. I would appreciate any advice!

thank you

GreenDuck12

7+ Year Member
Mar 30, 2014
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
Advice: Don't take the MCAT until after you have completed the prerequisite courses. Take the prerequisite courses and focus on doing well in those classes. You can use MCAT materials to supplement your in class learning, but most classes will test to a different depth than the MCAT. Once you have finished taking all prerequisites, spend 3-4 months studying for the mcat when it is you only major area of focus.

Reactions: 8 users
Aug 19, 2020
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
Advice: Don't take the MCAT until after you have completed the prerequisite courses. Take the prerequisite courses and focus on doing well in those classes. You can use MCAT materials to supplement your in class learning, but most classes will test to a different depth than the MCAT. Once you have finished taking all prerequisites, spend 3-4 months studying for the mcat when it is you only major area of focus.
thank you!

About the Ads

Kumorebi

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
2+ Year Member
Jun 21, 2017
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student