MCAT Philosophy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gallivant

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is not a troll thread but an honest notion that I came upon. I am only a freshman in college so this may excuse my ignorance but I feel like this makes sense. If the MCAT tests the student on introductory level sciences, there is very limited information that one can be tested on. Therefore I don't understand why the MCAT is so difficult. The only part of the MCAT that seems challenging is the Verbal Reasoning section. I took a practice test on the Biological Section of the MCAT and using just my knowledge from AP Biology and AP Chemistry I scored fairly well. So can someone explain to me why the MCAT is considered one of the hardest standardized tests?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
This is not a troll thread but an honest notion that I came upon. I am only a freshman in college so this may excuse my ignorance but I feel like this makes sense. If the MCAT tests the student on introductory level sciences, there is very limited information that one can be tested on. Therefore I don't understand why the MCAT is so difficult. The only part of the MCAT that seems challenging is the Verbal Reasoning section. I took a practice test on the Biological Section of the MCAT and using just my knowledge from AP Biology I scored fairly well. So can someone explain to me why the MCAT is considered one of the hardest standardized tests?

You must have failed the Orgo sections on it then. Also AP Biology has all of the same themes as Bio 1 and 2...so that makes sense.