1. Hey Guest! Check out the 3 MCAT Study Plan Options listed in the 'stickies' area at the top of the forums (BoomBoom, SN2ed, and MCATJelly). Let us know which you like best.

Also, we now offer a MCAT Test-Prep Exhibitions Forum where you can ask questions directly from the test-prep services.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
  3. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

MCAT Prep Course, Should I or Shouldn't I?

Discussion in 'MCAT Discussions' started by MD-To Be, Jul 22, 2006.

1. MD-To Be

MD-To Be Member
    2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    I am new to SDN and I am looking for some advice. I was recently accepted into the Wright State 2012 School of Medicine class to commence in 2008. I was accepted at the end of my sophomore year through the school's Early Assurance Program based on GPA (4.00) and my ACT score (28). As part of my acceptance I am required to take the MCAT but it dosen't matter what score I get because I only have to post a score; I can get a 15 and still retain my acceptance.

My question is, is there any reason to still invest $1,700 in a Kaplan/Princeton Review classroom prep course even though my MCAT score dosen't matter any more? I know the number of scholarships are few for incoming medical student but is there any other reason to want to do really well on the MCAT since I know for sure that I want to go to WSU's SOM? Finally, if the prep course is not worth the money, what is the best independent study method/program/book(s) to use? I have heard a lot about ExamKrackers and Audio Osmosis but even the EK "course" is over $1,000.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Arsenic

Arsenic posting from the future
    Physician Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    congrats!