MCAT Prep Overview -- Lawyer Perspective

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mornincounselor

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey y'all. I'm a current law student who studied and tutored for the Law School Admissions Test for several years. I have a dear friend who will soon begin her MCAT prep journey and I'm hoping someone might be able to help me draw parallels between the tests so I can better advise her and point her in the right direction.

Ideal LSAT prep breaks down to three essentially equal blocks of time (let's say 1 year start-to-finish in connection with a part-time+ job). First, about one-third of the time is spent learning of the various question types associated with the sections. One must learn what each of the question types look like and begin to identify the nuanced differences between similarly worded questions. For this part of prep we use prep books to learn general strategies. This is the basic information that the (imo subpar) LSAT courses teach as well, but it's much quicker and cost-effective to do this initial prep on one's own. We would use LSAT Trainer, Manhattan Test Prep, Powerscore Bibles.

With the LSAT we are greatly advantaged in that 3/4ths of the administered tests annually are released to the public, so we have ~75 full length tests worth of unique questions. So during the second stage of our prep we take the first 40 pts and break them down into question type and drill the questions. Here, the goal is to see what correct answer choices feel like for each of the question types, to see what types of tricks the test makers use to throw us off the path, and to identify areas where further preliminary prep is necessary. We would use Cambridge Packets which break down the first 40 LSAC PTs and in-depth analysis of each question broken down in various forums and by 7sage.