MCAT Question - My Timetable for studying:

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Neuro Advocate

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I have a question to ask in regards to studying for the MCAT. First, please allow me to provide some background information:

1) I volunteer 5 hours a week at a hospital, and shadow another 4 a week (different physicians in various fields in both the MD and DO distinction).
2) I am employed, working 25 hours a week and helping provide for my ailing parents whom I take care of.
3) I am a dual-degree student, taking on an additional minor. I will be graduating with two separate Bachelor's degrees, and one of them will have a minor attributed to it.
4) I am doing independent research and research with a faculty member.
5) I do not have the funds to pay for a professional study course, such as the Princeton Review.
6) I take classes year round - Winter, Fall, and Summer.

With all of that background information, you can see I'm extremely busy, with most hours of most days already allocated to some responsibility or duty. Now, I intend to take the MCAT in April of 2013. Most of my friends studied many hours for many days of 3 months. I do not have the luxury of dedicating that many hours to such a short period of time. I also believe studying over a longer period of time would help the material stick better, please correct me if you believe otherwise in regards to the MCAT.