MCAT schedule with a full-time position

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pioneer22

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I recently graduated and will begin a full-time position this June. I want to take the MCAT this year sometime to apply next year and was wondering if anyone had experience preparing for MCAT while working full-time....1) did you have a schedule that worked...2)is there an optimum time frame (ie. 3 months v 5 months, etc)?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I studied for the MCAT while working full time (I took it in 2018 and I'm planning re-take in June). The first time, I took the test in March 2018 and started studying the previous June. I did content review until December. I then took a full-length practice test every single Saturday leading up to my test date to get accustomed to the length. It really sucked because I was working 8 hours day, going home and studying for 2-3 hours each night and weekends were eaten up by practice tests and test review. This time around, I did something similar, although there's sort of been a lull for practice tests since my exam was originally in April but not rescheduled. I also didn't have to do as much content review this time around (although I'm working more so time-wise it still sucks).

It's definitely doable, but you should make your schedule based on how much content review you need. After you are pretty confident on the content, I'd recommend doing a lot of practice questions and take at least the AAMC official full length practice tests (there's 4). CARS is the hardest section to "study" for since it's for reading comprehension. I'd recommend you just read a lot the year leading up to your test. I read a lot of newspapers, especially sections for things I wasn't really familiar with (for me it was sports and fashion).

Reactions: 1 users