Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

MCAT scores and acceptance (not a "what are my chances thread")

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by Soccer885, Jul 26, 2006.

1. Soccer885

Soccer885 Senior Member

Medical Student
    First off, this isnt a "what are my chances thread?" I have a legit question about scores and medical schools. If you would like to weigh in with telling me I have a shot or not, that's fine, but that's not what I am fishing for.

So I have a bit of a problem. I plan on retaking the MCAT this August because I was disappointed in my score from April (24 Q). I just started studying again for the MCAT this past Monday (7/24). I am really scared that I wont be ready for the the August one since I only gave myself less then a month to study (I was taking some demanding summer classes that had just finished). How much will the schools look at my new MCAT score come October when scores are released? How bad will it look if I do worse then I did before?

Another question I have is that I listed on my application that I plan on retaking the MCAT in August, but I want to be considered for an interview/acceptance based on my 24Q as well. I think I have a good shot at getting accepted considering that I have a 3.9 GPA, great extracurriculars and great lor. Will schools consider me with my current stats or will they wait until my August scores?

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. shttthttle

shttthttle Member

Pre-Medical
    26 M

Accepted at KCUMB, NOVA, DMU, CCOM
    Rejected from MSU-COM (I sent the secondary in two weeks before the deadline)

4. Soccer885

Soccer885 Senior Member

Medical Student
    This wasnt what I was looking for, but thanks for the input.