MCAT Scores Rapidly Approaching "Sell By" Date

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mlm3

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is my first time posting on SDN and I am in need of some advice. Here's my deal:

I applied to both MD and DO schools for Fall '06 - received one interview (and waitlist) but ultimately was not accepted. My undergrad GPA was low (cum 2.6) from a rigorous school and my MCAT was a 30 (10-10-10). I did a year of AmeriCorps and am now working in clinical research and doing volunteer work in a free clinic - thanks to which I've had lots of patient exposure plus a couple of small, non-peer-reviewed publications. Since my low GPA is the major problem, I am starting a post-bac program this fall.

My question is this: I took my MCATs in August '04 and so for most schools they will expire in August '07. If I apply for Fall '07, my application will not reflect my post-bac grades. Yet, if I apply for Fall '08, I will have to re-take the MCAT...and I'm not totally confident in my ability to achieve an even split a second time. Normally I score higher on verbal and lower on PS, so actually almost passed out when I saw the even split the first time around. :p

So while I make myself comfortable between a rock and a hard place...does anyone have any advice? Or maybe going through/been through the same thing?

Thanks, guys!

Members don't see this ad.

Take the MCAT again during your postbacc. You will likely score better, since all the sciences will be fresh in your mind. You'll just have to buy several review books and basically sleep with them until you get the score you want.

This way, you'll get a GPA boast from the post-bacc & (hopefully) improve your MCAT.

:luck: