MCAT worries!

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by MNgirl, Mar 13, 2000.

1. MNgirl

MNgirl Junior Member

I am getting ready for the last stretch until the April MCAT, but am very frustrated with myself. I graduated in '96 and took the Kaplan and MCAT then, but never applied to med school. Instead of retaking the course this time around, I have been studying for several months on my own with several different books including Kaplan ones. I have taken 3 practice exams and keep getting 8s across the board. Any advice for me? I study about 12-14 hrs a week, practice problems, study my weak pts, but just can't seem to score above 8. Time is the problem with Verbal, but don't know what's going on with the rest..I'm getting worried about the test since it is coming up so soon. I have very good credentials otherwise, but I know the MCAT needs to back me up on everything else. Should I NOT take the test if this keeps up and wait until August? I don't know if I can bear dragging this out even further. I am just killing myself over this and don't know what to do.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Andre

Andre Member

Good luck with MCAT....
    You should realize that unless you score in the 32-35 range, you will not make it into US schools.
    If you would like to learn more about your other option to be an MD, through the Caribbean route w/o MCAT, then call me one weekend @ Home in Houston;
    281-554-4524
    Andre

4. 32-35 is by no means necessary for admission to an allopathic med school. The MCAT is but one (albeit very important) component of the application process. There are plenty of folks in med school now with less thaqn 30 MCATS (somewhere I read this was the average of US matriculants).

Anything below 8 is BAD [​IMG]

5. atchoo

atchoo Junior Member

"You should realize that unless you score in the 32-35 range, you will not make it into US schools."