Aug 1, 2016
Status
Pre-Medical
So I am kind of in a unique situation involving my academic history and my experiences so far; however, I would like to get kind of a "ballpark" estimate on possibility of MD school upon B.S. completion.

Things do get a bit awkward here. Currently I have two GPA's, my university-only GPA and my university and military experience GPA combined. Before completing my B.S. I worked as a linguist in the Army and I was sent to DLI. There I received a 3.95 GPA overall in the 60 credits that I took there. However, my first year at college wasn't the best because of illness and also I failed to get DSS support like I should have. Therefore my GPA calculations are the following as of my first year, (I have 4 years remaining).

University only
University and Military

I am aware it is just my first year, but I am a bit nervous considering other people have higher GPAs than I do. As for clinical experience, I haven't done any shadowing; however, I am finishing up an internship and I will be first author for three short reports to be submitted and published by the end of September. I was just wondering what other things can I do to really increase my chances? The problem with me is I am usually not the best test taker, anxiety and stress get to me at times; however, my expertise is usually what really pulls me along. I just wanted to get some overall things on what I should do and improve on for the future and my chances if anyone can project!

Goro

7+ Year Member
Jun 10, 2010
Somewhere west of St. Louis
Status
Non-Student
First off, many thanks to you for your service to our country.

A 3.4 cGPA will be fine for a veteran, especially at your state school.
I am aware it is just my first year, but I am a bit nervous considering other people have higher GPAs than I do.