MD/DO degree?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

John DO

A.T. Still Endowed Chair
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a new student at KCOM (05). I recently heard from an MS2 that KCOM and some other DO schools are considering the institution of an MD/DO degree, much as many schools offer a DO/PhD degree. My understanding is that KCOM was originally granted a charter to confer the MD degree, but Dr. Still declined, instituting the DO degree. The addition of the MD/DO degree would increase competitiveness in today's health market. Any thoughts? :confused:

Members don't see this ad.

Personally I think that the MD/DO degree would only add more confusion among the public about osteopathic medicine. Having a MD/DO will not make it any more competitive than DO. From my limited understanding, the best way for DOs to become competitive in the market place is to increase their numbers, which is currently taking place.

Also, with our shortage of physicians we have a large population who's healthcare needs are not fully being met. To me, it seems that there are plenty of patients to go around. This country needs physicians, DO or MD, it doesn't matter.

Homer J

Should we heighten awareness about the differences between the DO and the MD philosophies and practices? If so, we should eliminate the "MD" designation entirely, and replace it with an "M.D.A" designation.
Of course, the DO designation should be replaced with the designation "M.D.O"

This would force all participants in the health care system to at least question the difference.

john

Members don't see this ad :)
Look with me!!

With the MDA and the MDO designations, what happens in the collective mind of the populace?

1. Both doctors are medical doctors!
2. One practices allopathic medicine, the other practices osteopathic medicine.

Similarities and differences are thrustimmediately into the public psyche.