MD/MBA and psychiatry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

petermoss

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have an MD/MBA (did a joint program) and am in the middle of a psychiatry residency. What opportunities are there for when I finish, and what can I do in the meantime to prepare & pad the resume?
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

excellent inquiry. i hope to hear some insightful replies to this post. thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad :)
Well, I'm getting close to being halfway through my EM residency (not quite, but close enough), so I am thinking along the same lines. Right now, the decision points on my mind that I hope will guide my projects and career development are:

1). Clinical medicine versus business after residency
2). If clinical medicine, academic setting versus community

At this point, I think I enjoy clinical medicine enough to try to find an attending job that has a clinical component; in addition, I think the protected time I would get in academia would better allow me to carve out a practice niche for my career.

As a result, I'm looking into research and projects that will get my foot in the door as a new attending when I apply for a job. I am in the process now of having meetings with as many potential mentors as possible (residency directors, chairmen, VP's, attendings, etc), getting advice on how best to strategically use the time I have left in residency to be able to transition into an interesting attending job straight out of residency.

If there is anyone out there who has more experience with this, I'd also love to hear any peals of wisdom.