Md/mph?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Novamuse

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am currently an undergrad with a Bio major at a medium-small university. I really want to get into health administration and have been reading recently about the MD/MPH dual degree programs at several of the universities that I'm considering for grad school.

My question is.. well, I have never really wanted to become a patient-care doctor. But looking at hospital admins at the hospitals in my area, most to all of them have an MD. Also, I hope to work for government health someday (CDC, NIH, etc) and lots of them have MD/MPH too. It just seems like a lot of work to go through all of med school to get the MD to be qualified for these jobs when I am really more interested in the administrative work.

What are the differences between what kind of jobs a MD/MPH versus just an MPH can hold? And salary differences?
Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,

I am currently an undergrad with a Bio major at a medium-small university. I really want to get into health administration and have been reading recently about the MD/MPH dual degree programs at several of the universities that I'm considering for grad school.

My question is.. well, I have never really wanted to become a patient-care doctor. But looking at hospital admins at the hospitals in my area, most to all of them have an MD. Also, I hope to work for government health someday (CDC, NIH, etc) and lots of them have MD/MPH too. It just seems like a lot of work to go through all of med school to get the MD to be qualified for these jobs when I am really more interested in the administrative work.

What are the differences between what kind of jobs a MD/MPH versus just an MPH can hold? And salary differences?
Thanks in advance!