MD/PhD Help Me Decide: Loyola University Chicago vs. University of Maryland

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Where would you go? (Please base off of listed pros and cons)

• Loyola University Chicago

Votes: 11 39.3%
  • University of Maryland

Votes: 17 60.7%

• Total voters

abro

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm new to SDN, so I apologize if this is posted in the wrong forum. I'm incredibly fortunate to have acceptances to two quality MD/PhD programs, but I am having trouble officially deciding which program to attend. I would welcome any honest opinions and thoughts!

Here are my pros and cons for each school:

Loyola:

Pros:
-FRIENDLIEST PEOPLE. The program has about 3 students per class, which may be a con (not sure). It seems like the program directors know every single student very well.
-There are a few PIs that I'm really interested in working with, but one really seems to stand out. We have talked on multiple occasions and he seems super enthusiastic about having me at least rotate in the lab. His group is smaller, but publishes multiple papers every year. In one of our conversations, he told me that I can propose my own dissertation project as long as it falls under his laboratory's general research interests. I have a feeling that I would have a lot of freedom to explore what I'd want.
-Beautiful facilities!
-Complete commitment to social justice, which is something that I plan to incorporate into my future practice.
-Living in Chicago. I'm from a larger city and enjoy the hustle and bustle.

Cons:
-Lower rank and notoriety than Maryland. This is my biggest concern, I think. There is no doubt it is a great program with great residency placement (see below), but how much does rank/notoriety matter?
-Smaller class size. Maybe a con?
-Not a MSTP program, but it is (almost) fully funded (insurance, tuition, most fees) with a competitive stipend through all eight years.