1. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

MD/PhD in HISTORY???

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by banannie, Sep 18, 2002.

1. banannie

banannie Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

I majored in History & Science in college, and am considering doing a joint degree in medicine and history (either MA or PhD). So far, Duke is the only school I've seen with a formal program. Does anyone know of any other formal programs out there? Has anyone done (or know of someone who's done) one of these programs? Is anyone considering doing an informal joint program (eg, taking a leave of absence btwn 2nd and 3rd year to get a degree in history)?

thanks! :)

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. pathdr2b

pathdr2b Membership Revoked
    Removed

Try UI- Urbanna-Champaign or Harvard

Good luck!!

4. MedApp2003

MedApp2003 Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

The UCSF joint program with Berkley also looks really good for stuff like that.
    Good luck!

5. doepug

doepug Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Come to Hopkins.

There's an awesome history of medicine program here, and over the years, several people have done an MD/PhD, studying medical history. I believe there's actually a formal pathway for this.

Cheers,

doepug
    MS III, Johns Hopkins

6. jot

jot

penn,yale,duke,hopkins have programs. i was seriously considering this option, and had done a lot of research abotu it -- its a great degree btu the funding becomes an issue. these schools help you out for the most part, but its a different sort of issue. ask your history profs - they are connected and can help you out greatly. if you have anymore specific Q's let me know

-jot

7. none

none 1K Member
    10+ Year Member