Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

MD student from the philippines interested in getting DO trainning

Discussion in 'Medical Students - DO' started by doc marcus conradus, May 28, 2002.

1. doc marcus conradus

doc marcus conradus Junior Member

im a 3rd year medical student (MD) from the philippines and i have done some reading about osteopathic medicine. First and foremost i like the holistic philosophy which you DOs say you uphold. I also like the idea of diagnosing and treating with the use of your hands.

I was wondering if there are any institutions there that offer osteophatic traning for foreign md graduates. Or do I have to go through the entire 4 years of osteopathic school?

I thought of going to the uk, but i read that osteopaths there are not full physicians.

Well as far as i know there are no osteopaths here. There are those who uphold the holistic approach but I don't think there are any physicians with training in OMM and OMT.

It would be a pleasure to hear from you. For me it would be a great honor to be a pioneer of osteopathic medicine here in my home country.

Thanks alot!

I

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. mikeaparker

mikeaparker Senior Member

Pre-Pharmacy
    I believe NYCOM has one of those biggest programs..

<a href="http://www.nycom.edu" target="_blank">www.nycom.edu</a>

look under their Osteopathic Medicine program for emigre physicians...

Mike

actually I found the direct link, click below:
    <a href="http://iris.nyit.edu/nycom/future/fut_emigre.htm" target="_blank">http://iris.nyit.edu/nycom/future/fut_emigre.htm</a>

4. doc marcus conradus

doc marcus conradus Junior Member

Thanks for the link mike! Another 3 years after medical school is not bad considering the fact that I'll have the initials M.D., D.O. after my name. Anyways I'm only 22 years old!

Thanks again!

5. HenryMD

HenryMD New Member