1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

MD student with DO externship

Discussion in 'Medical Students - DO' started by corisa, Mar 26, 2001.

1. corisa

corisa Junior Member

I'm an allopathic medical school student finishing my first year. (Yeah!!!) I was accepted to a summer program for aspiring family physicians where you work with one for a month in between your first and second years of school. The family physician I am placed with is a DO. I never researched DO school or the philosophy prior to applying to med school, so I don't know much about it. From what I understand the two degrees are basically the same, except for manipulations which someone in my class who had applied told me about. Is there anything different that I should expect while following around this physician this summer? Thanks!!!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Freeeedom!

Freeeedom! Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Expect a human sacrifice to A.T. Still every morning, and then 20 squat thrusts to circulate your "vital humors".
    Then you will be ready to go!!

4. Pilot

Pilot Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    Gosh. Don't let it get out that your medical school is conducting training with D.O.'s. Someone might get the idea that the degrees are similar...

Seriously, you will probably not notice much of a difference in treatment methods between MD/DO physician mentors unless you are paired with a D.O. who specializes in OMT; then you will get an eyeful. However, there aren't many around who specialize in OMT treatment, but to hear them talk they are turning away business because they are so busy.