MD to DDS?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LR6SO4

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I am a second year med student who has just about had it with medicine. I like the science, I like the patients. The training and lifestyle is not me. The AMA is so liberal that nationalized healthcare will be here in about 6 years. Salaries are going down, hours are insane. I want to help people on my own terms...so that leads me to my next part.

My girlfriend just graduated from Dental Hygiene school so I now have insight into the profession of dentistry, at least from a hygiene viewpoint. The job is awesome! We hang out with the dentists and they are just so cool. Totally different from doctors, so much more laid back. They like their work very much, they have Friday afternoons off, they DO THINGS!!! When was the last time you heard of an MD doing something fun?

I want to get the MD degree. I've worked my butt off to get here and stay here and I am doing well. I do not want to practice medicine. Are dental schools open to this? How long would it take for someone with the MD to get a DDS? I know that dentistry is taught somewhat similarly but with dental technique introduced from the start. I'm guessing 3-4 years? I believe that the basic sciences would all transfer. Has anyone heard of this happening? By the way, I am only interested in general practice, but would this give me an edge on an oral surgery residency? How about an oral residency without the DDS, like a DDS goes into one and gets an MD, can I go into one and get the DDS?
Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

Praise be to God,

The angels rejoice whenever the wayward elite come to their senses and return to the fold.