mechanical engineering?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gmcsierra

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a wrapping up my first semester in mechanical engineering. I enjoy it. I have been comtemplating a career in medicine for the past 2 years. I am highly interested by it, but i am scared of the hours and time missed from family. Maybe i should just do it. I also don't know how to go about getting my pre requisites. Is there any use for a mechanical engineering degree in medicine? If i don't get in, will the bio, chem, biochem, orgochem help at all in any other career? Should i work the pre-requisites in while i'm unsure? if i get the pre-reqs in post bach, would you reccomend just going to school for 2 more years while taking extra anat, physio, nutrition........................are the residencies as bad as they say? 100-130hrs/wk until you are 34? thanks for any suggestions

Members don't see this ad.

Engineers rule. Don't fall to the lowest denominator and became a basic science major. Do the prereqs and don't worry about it.

an engineer and @ umich, you rule Sunny!

Members don't see this ad :)
Yes there is a need for ME's (and engineers in general) in medicine. Engineers in general make good clinicians because of their applied science background. On the research side, biomechanics is one of the hottest fields around and there is a need for engineer/physicians to answer questions like how the body responds to stress/strain and other mechanical stimuli and why. Do what you enjoy and best of luck

gmcsierra,

i graduated from undergrad this year with a degree in mechanical engineering and am now a 1st year in medical school. it's very doable. i had to take half of the prerequisites at night and on top of my already full engineering curriculum. i did it that way because i didn't want to spend any extra time in undergrad (our program was already five years long).