Mechanical or Biomedical engineering?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FlyGuy34

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
In a bit of a dilemma here, boys and girls. I'm a 2nd semester freshman who needs to decide quickly which engineering major I will pursue. I am highly interested in medschool, yet to a greater degree, at the current moment, I am even more interested in pursuing a pilot slot in Air Force ROTC, of which I have not yet joined but might do next year. I would probably like studying mechanical engineering a little bit more than biomedical, but if I ever apply to medschool, I understand that a bachelor's in biomedical engineering would be more useful. I have also heard, though, that in order for that to be useful, I would need a Master's in biomed on top of that. The thing is, I am allowed to add courses to my schedule until the 28th, but optimally I should decide by tomorrow afternoon since that is the day of my first engineering class of the semester. The class is geared towards a specific major only, and if I decide to switch down the road, chances are I would have to retake it next year, possibly costing me extra money.

Mechanical engineering seems a broader field and, please correct me in this, but there is also a possibility that I would still be able to work in medicine or at least apply to medschool given i've done the pre-med requirements if ROTC doesn't work out. Please help me decide. I am not looking for "you need to find out for yourself", have heard that too much already.

Members don't see this ad.

Mech E will give you much better job prospects straight out of undergrad. BME will take a little less work coursewise if you take the med school route, b/c of course overlap. Your major will have no effect on med school admissions. The safest bet, IMO is to go with Mech E.