Med-Peds and Research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Duke1K

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a current med student on rotations right now. From my (limited) experience, the med-peds residents/attendings at my school are some of the best clinicians and teachers around. As a group, they have incredible bedside manner and excellent judgment, and I strive to emulate their practice as much as I can.

Question: how compatible is med-peds with lab research? I know many residency programs prefer med-peds residents to go into primary care, but I have a strong research bent and know 100% that I want to do academic medicine with protected research time. Scientifically, I'm interested in blood-borne cancers and, after a hemonc fellowship, could envision a career around adult/child leukemias. Alternatively, I could stick with basic science and become a med-peds hospitalist.

Clinically, I really just love taking care of very sick people. I'd probably consider pulm/cc if it were more compatible with bench research, and I'd probably do family med if I didn't hate outpatient so much.

My only other real considerations are time (if doing med-peds+fellowship is all that necessary v. just IM+fellowship), and whether or not med-peds is something value-added for society. I don't want to do med-peds just because I'm interested; I'd want to fill a particular unmet need in medicine.

I'd appreciate any thoughts. Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a current med student on rotations right now. From my (limited) experience, the med-peds residents/attendings at my school are some of the best clinicians and teachers around. As a group, they have incredible bedside manner and excellent judgment, and I strive to emulate their practice as much as I can.