1. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Med School Advice for a Musician?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by roscoe7, May 6, 2004.

1. roscoe7

roscoe7 New Member

I think I have a unique "non-trad" situation that I would love some advice on. I Graduated from UCLA three years ago with a 3.84 (about the same science and non-science), music major, and just took the MCAT (was getting 31-33 range on the practices with Kaplan). After graduation, I was in a band signed to Interscope Records that toured the country for two years, got radio and play, etc, but ultimately didn't do that well and broke up. I'm still playing music professionally, this time I'm backing up a singer, we're touring amphitheatres and doing TV appearances this summer, but my ultimate goal has always been to go to med school. My problem is that I have absolutely no clinical/research/volunteer med work at all. My only thing is some work with a charity where we played music for children in children's hosiptals around the country. So, my question is this: do you think it's worth applying now without any traditional EC's, or should I wait until I have time to volunteer in a few clinics at least, also, will adcoms care about the music stuff? I'm also worried about how long my grades/mcats will last because I don't want to take any post-bacc or retake the MCATs. I also think it will be virtually impossible to go back and get LOR's from UCLA three years later. (I guess it was a few questions:)
    Thanks in advance,
    Roscoe

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. lisa13579

lisa13579 2K Member