Med School and Self-Confidence

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by Adelina, Dec 7, 2002.

1. Adelina

Adelina New Member

Hi everyone,
    I am new here. I am a first-year student at a top-10-whatever school on the East coast. I can't seem to get my self-esteem back since I've started school. Everyone around me is so smart and knows so much, it makes me feel stupid and worthless. I read (and a lot), but don't seem to retain much or synthesize the information. My grades also reflect this (we have grades and that adds extra stess). Sometimes when i hear the students talk or discuss something in class, I cannot keep up with their reasoning and this is really scary to me. Would I be doomed on the wards?

I do not do well on the tests largely because I lost self confidence and I don't believe in myself anymore. I just don't know how to get it back! I try study harder, but, once the test comes, all of my knowledge magically evaporates (i become so stressed, I don't trust my instincts on exams), and on short-answer questions, my explanations are very often flawed.
    Has anyone had a similar problem? How did you deal with it?
    thank you in advance,
    Adelina

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. hey am sorry about that, am in the honors college in my school(undergrad) and am going to get kicked out for all the reasons u listed above.

i think if u are in med school then its helpful to realise that u earned ur position in that school and the adcoms think u are capable of making good grades. some schools are competitive but its important that u ignore that and just work hard and do ur best. u could also form study groups but ultimately dont compare urself with ur classmates, do ur best and u will stand out on ur own

i probably didnt make any sense ;) but *sigh*, good luck. :)

4. Scalpel

Scalpel Guest

Medical Student