Med school as an international student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

evans2000

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey i am an international student majoring in biology with a minor in chemistry and concentration in sociology...i would be junior this coming fall preparing to take the mcat....i volunteer twice a week at local hospital....and i am also working as a cna. Right now my gpa is 3.75..my plan is to make sure it goes up and does not goes below that when i graduate....but haven't researched some medical schools,it surprises me that most of these schools do not accept international students....even after my undergraduate in the states..weird...could anyone please let me know my chances of being admitted to any medical school? Am i on the right path as i am going with my classes? I know i can get a loan but is there any school that would accept me without looking at my immigration status as an f-1 student? I got a reply from duke university that they don't look citizenship or permanent residency in their admission processes,and that all student get equal chances no matter where you are from.....please i need help...please help......

Members don't see this ad.

Just looking at your GPA and a good MCAT, your chances are good.

Just looking at your F-1, not so good; it narrows down where you can apply and there is no way around a school looking at your F-1 without a status change on your part.

Overall chances; somewhere in between.

Every school lists the course work required on their websites. That should help with the classes you need take.

Here is thread you might find worth reading.
http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=101679

Last edited: