kdburton

Ulnar Deviant
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Sep 3, 2005
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I'm an in state resident at the college I go to right now, and I would also like to apply to the medical school here this spring. I realize that I have an advantage already because its one of my state schools, but does anyone know if adcoms give extra preference to someone who has also completed their undergrad at the same institution? Would getting LORs from profs that the adcom might know be better than say... an almost identical letter written for a student at a different institution?

Pewl

The Dude Abides
10+ Year Member
Aug 8, 2005
Hollywood Star Lanes
Status
Attending Physician
kdburton said:
I'm an in state resident at the college I go to right now, and I would also like to apply to the medical school here this spring. I realize that I have an advantage already because its one of my state schools, but does anyone know if adcoms give extra preference to someone who has also completed their undergrad at the same institution? Would getting LORs from profs that the adcom might know be better than say... an almost identical letter written for a student at a different institution?
Some schools favor their own undergrads. Some don't. Private schools tend to favor their own undergrads more. I'd kill to go to my undergrad school's med school (ucla) but somehow I don't think that's happening. Heh.

little_late_MD

Ready To Jump
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Sep 26, 2005
South Florida
Status
Pre-Medical
I know that my university does. I plan to do a master's there first as well, so maybe my advantage will be doubled!

odrade1

UASOM alum
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Nov 4, 2005
Planetary
Status
Resident [Any Field]
kdburton said: