Med School Questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BloodySurgeon

Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, new user.... 18 male/ pre-allopathic GPA- 3.9ish

I have a couple of questions regarding Med school:

1) Are schools bias to out-of-state students? (I have read many school, such as Texas, are bias to out-of-state applicants).

2) I am studying for the MCATs and I want to take a summer off to prepare. Will schools fuss about taking a break from school over the summer?

3) I have no problem with calculus-based physics, but I took algebra-based physics... will I need to take physics again? (I was a psych major-- It sux).

4) Which is more important- Research or Volunteer? (Since this is a very debatable subject, would hospital volunteer or univerisity research be better?)

-I have done a little of both, but looking at other people's profiles and I was planning to do 2 1/2 yrs of volunteer and a year of research... please give feedback on this.

5) How important is shadowing doctors?

6) Also another "What are my chances question..." What are some of the school I should be applying to:

California Resident
GPA- 3.9
MCAT- (I am at 32 but I haven't had much time to study--- should end at around 35).

7) I hear Standford has Pass/Fail grades for the first two year of med school. Are there any other schools with similar gradings?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, new user.... 18 male/ pre-allopathic GPA- 3.9ish

I have a couple of questions regarding Med school:

1) Are schools bias to out-of-state students? (I have read many school, such as Texas, are bias to out-of-state applicants).

2) I am studying for the MCATs and I want to take a summer off to prepare. Will schools fuss about taking a break from school over the summer?