med school to informatics

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chipwhitley

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new here. My roommate uses this forum all the time and finds your advice helpful, so I thought I'd give it a try. I'm a 4th year med student looking to switch gears into bioinformatics/medical informatics. I really don't enjoy clinical medicine at all and can't see myself surviving a 3-5 year residency program. I really struggled through 3rd year and am dreading my clinical rotations coming up in 4th year. I took the last year off to work on a medical informatics research project. It was kind of an accident as I was burned out / depressed looking for something to do and just managed to stumble onto it. It involved Python programming, which I learned over the course of the year and have gotten pretty decent at. I found that I really love programming/working with computers. I got a publication and really enjoyed the work. I looked at medical informatics fellowships, but they all seem to require that you've finished a residency and most of them don't really have much to do with programming, which is the part I really liked. There's also the option of doing a masters or PhD in bioinformatics or in computer science with specialization in bioinformatics? Or a second bachelors?

I'm trying to figure out which route would be the best to take. My ultimate goal is to either do research at a university or (preferably) work at a biotech company in a role that involves programming. I'm wondering whether or not I should apply to residency, and if I do and change my mind, can I back out? I don't think I'll hear back from Grad programs before March. I am really really dreading having to go to residency because I feel like I'll be banging my head against a wall for 3-5 years. On the other hand, I need to find something that I can pay my enormous loans off with.

Edit: fixed typo.