Medial branch block with steroid - RFA denied

Discussion in 'Pain Medicine' started by giddyup, 05.20.14.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. giddyup

giddyup ASA Member 7+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    So I have a patient who had lumbar medial branch blocks done with near 100% relief immediately post procedure. I put a small amount of steroid (10mg kenalog) in the block to give her some longer lasting relief until we got her RFA approved. Spoke to a doc at her insurance company and they approved RFA. Performed RFA. Now a new doc calling from insurance company stating the RFA is now NOT approved because I used steroid and that is a therapeutic block not a diagnostic block, regardless of the immediate relief she received post procedure. So, now I'm not going to get reimbursed for the RFAs I already performed. Anyone else have this issue? I have never had this problem before. He is requesting literature to "support my practice as it is not standard of care". Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. SSdoc33

SSdoc33 7+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    #1 -- obviously, the RFA shouldnt have been approved, then not approved. they are playing games.
    #2 -- there is no such thing as a "therapeutic" medial branch block, despite what manchikanti says
    #3 -- never put any steroid into a MBB, as it is a strictly diagnostic procedure. if you are looking for a therapeutic response, do an intra-articular Z-joint injection

4. bedrock

bedrock Member 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    What he said. It's not worth the hassle. Also it makes the diagnostic block less accurate, (per Paul Dreyfuss, who is more of an expert on MBB and RF than the rest of).

Fight this one, but don't use steroid in your MBB in the future.

5. pmrmd

pmrmd SDN Lifetime Donor Lifetime Donor 7+ Year Member

Attending Physician