Medic and Nurse and Medical School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

nontraditionalperson

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
For those that have gone to school to become a paramedic (not just EMT) or nurse, how did your classes and clinical experiences benefit you in medical school? For the first two years, did your science and healthcare classes and clinical experiences help with the classes? Did your background help during your clinical rotations? How did being a paramedic or nurse help you outside your courses? If you could redo you background, would you have taken more science courses? Also, I'd like to read about any specific examples, if you have any.

Members don't see this ad.

I was a paramedic for ~8yrs prior to med school. It helped in no way the first two years. Sure some of the terminology and very very very basic physiology was at least familiar, still I can't say it gave me any advantage. 3rd and 4th year the benefit was not very tangible but I do feel like it was easier for me to make quicker assessments (i.e. Sick vs not sick) and easier to build rapport as I already had experience doing this. I would hesitate to say it was a huge advantage though.

I don't think I'd change much about my background. One thing I personally would maybe have done differently is majored in something outside the sciences. I majored in biology largely because it came easily to me, part of we wished I would have majored in something more abstract that challengers me more...

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile app