This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tutorthepeople

Customized tutoring and test prep
Vendor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
TTP_IS_Lindsay.png
This interview premieres the Tutor the People Interview Series (TTP IS). Throughout the TTP IS, we’ll chat with people from all walks of life within the medical field: doctors, medical students, pre-meds, advisors, and more. Today we’re speaking with Lindsay, an MS1 at the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC). :hello:

TTP: Hi Lindsay! Thank you for sharing your grains of wisdom about being a medical student, your life as a pre-med, and what led to medical school acceptance! Please, tell us all about yourself. What was your major in undergrad? Did you always want to become a doctor?

Lindsay: Hi, TTP! Thanks for including me in this. I graduated in 2012 from Furman University (Greenville, SC) with a degree in Neuroscience. I was fascinated by the brain and became convinced a bit prematurely that the only life for me would be in research, as a holder of a Ph.D. in Neuroscience. As a matter of fact, when my mother- who is an ARNP- urged me to consider applying to medical school, I was firmly against the notion. My time at Furman was defined by conducting behavioral neuroscience research and working as a teaching assistant in related subjects; this brings us to your next question, where I will address what changed regarding my career ambitions, and why I ultimately did decide to pursue an MD.

TTP: Don't leave us hanging! Please, go on. What made you ultimately decide to transition to training to practice medicine, instead of purely academic medicine?