Medical Leave of Absence Good or Bad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

liz358

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All,

I am a 2nd year med student going into 3rd, but recently had a medical concern arise, so I was deciding whether to take a year off or not and how will this be looked upon in Residency? Has anyone done this or is it better to give a different reason for the Leave or not take one at all? Also will the residency ask month by month schedule of my leave even if it was for a medical purpose? Any one had any experience with Leaves for medical reasons or any other reason....Advice much appreciated.

Thanks,

Liz

Members don't see this ad.

No actually, it really doesn't matter much. If they ask why there is a gap or why it took you 5 yrs instead of 4, you can just state that you took a medical leave of absence. Period. I took one for a high risk pregnancy, and it did not affect (as best I know) my applications, interviews, etc. In fact, I barely remember people asking me too much about it.

As long as it is a documented condition, and you disclose this in your application/personal statement.
Good luck
Gfunk6 said:
It depends what medical condition you are talking about.

Listen, when a program director is interviewing you, the last thing s/he wants to pick up is a resident who's going to take a leave of absense without warning.

It's very tough on a residency to lose a resident for a month or a year. It makes the rest of the residents and attendings rearrange schedules and work harder. They probably won't fire you, but it makes life hard on everyone.

If you do say that you took a leave of absense for medical reasons, it would be good if you could convince them that it won't happen again (like an appendectomy, or a traumatic injury). A relapsing medical condition spells trouble for residency directors.

beyond all hope said: