Medical Marijuana Moonlighting Job During Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

twospadz

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Currently offered a moonlighting job to write medical marijuana cards using tele-medicine. Patients will be in a different state. I am a pgy 3 resident. Pay is 100/hr but only a few hours a day. Wondering if this is worth doing or should I back out given the risks. Anyone have any experience with this kind of work input would be much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Don't most (all?) states which all "medical" marijuana state that the authorization must come from a doctor who has a real and meaningful relationship with the patient already? Having patients come to you only to authorize 1 specific treatment seems unethical and not the standard of care. But if I'm wrong about the set up maybe it's not as bad/risky.

Reactions: 3 users
Don't most (all?) states which all "medical" marijuana state that the authorization must come from a doctor who has a real and meaningful relationship with the patient already? Having patients come to you only to authorize 1 specific treatment seems unethical and not the standard of care. But if I'm wrong about the set up maybe it's not as bad/risky.
I forgot to mention too the job is a tele-medicine job in a different state. So I will be doing it over a screen too.

I'd be nervous that this looks like a "pill-mill" kind of set up for the green stuff - if you see a patient and are expected to Rx their card (because let's be real, you won't keep this job long if you deny cards for questionably made-up symptoms and conditions) at some point someone is going to get suspicious. I'm sure those docs running pill mills didn't go into it expecting to lose their licenses and go to jail... and if they did there are more fun ways to end up in the clink.

Reactions: 1 users