Medical related Jobs/Volunteer work?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Yoshistr

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
What kind of positions can I work at that will help me get into medical school?
I have considered EMT, medical billing, and pharmacy positions, but specifically what jobs are good to work in before applying to medical school? (I have my bachelor's in Biology and plan on working rather than volunteering to pay off some of the loans but you can also recommend volunteer positions I am qualified for.)

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

If you want to, pick a job where you're actually involved in patient care. EMT is the best of the three you mentioned. Don't do medical billing. Pharm tech can be good but you won't get as much clinical experience (though that depends on where you're working and what your job description is).

Having a job in the medical field (involving patient care) won't give you a leg up in the admissions process. It will only put you on a more level playing field with other competitive candidates.

You might also consider 1) medical scribe (follows a doc around and writes down history and exam as ellicited by the physician). 2) dietary aide at a nursing home. 3) hospital transporter. 4) Phlebotomist (draws blood from patients). 5) Medical Assistant/Receptionist in a private office. 5) Physical Therapy Assistant. The important consideration is lots of face time with sick people.

Members don't see this ad :)
You might also consider 1) medical scribe (follows a doc around and writes down history and exam as ellicited by the physician). 2) dietary aide at a nursing home. 3) hospital transporter. 4) Phlebotomist (draws blood from patients). 5) Medical Assistant/Receptionist in a private office. 5) Physical Therapy Assistant. The important consideration is lots of face time with sick people.