Medical school vs. Genetic Counseling? Also, family life of residents/physicians??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

laneypease

Reaction score
Hi!

This will be tough since I'm not sure how many others know much about GC, but here goes!

I LOVE genetics, and I love cancer genetics in particular. I work as a cytogenetics heme oncology lab tech at Mayo Clinic after graduating this year (2019). I started out in school as pre-med, then switched to pre-genetic counseling.

I crave lifelong learning, being an expert in my field, and truly serving and helping people. I also want a lifestyle that allows me to have a family and enjoy my life, and lets me travel.\
Basically..... I want babies and dogs and a nice home and adventure. But... I also want a fulfilling career in healthcare. Ahhhhhhh!

What I like about GC:
I help people process difficult information, I teach genetics all day, I get to learn new things for the rest of my life, Also, significantly less time dedicated to the program; 2 year Masters program and straight to the workforce. Lots more time for family and having kids and being a great mom (which is VERY important to me) I know lots of GCs with families, the majority of GCs are female so the environment is mother-friendly. Pay is decent, but not amazing; $80k a year according to the program I'm looking at. (Also, I have everything I need for a complete competitive application for school. No extra legwork needed)
What I don't like about GC:
I don't actually get to FIX the patient's problem. I help them understand, help them get answers, help them cope, but I don't treat anything. Generally only see patients once or twice, don't develop long-term relationships.

What I like about MD/DO: