Medical School vs. Law School

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Goobster20, Jun 6, 2008.

1. Goobster20

Non-Student
    Similar to a recent poster, I'm having a hard time deciding between law school and medical school.

In short, I am in my mid 20's and a survivor of childhood cancer. During my undergrad, I majored in bio and biostatistics, finished with a 3.1, and gained extensive research experience at a major local children's hospital. I attended grad school to boost my med app but only finished 1 year of a 2 year program (the program really was not a good fit as I was not at all comfortable with the people, the program, and the location).

After withdrawing from the grad program, I definitely felt that I took myself out of the running for medical school. I'm now working as a paralegal at an IP firm that absolultely values my work and contributions; I have been pretty much told that there will be a job for me should I decide to go to law school. Most likely I would stick with IP since my background is in science.

However, recently some of my family members have had recent stays at the hospital that have made me rethink my decision to abandon medicine. Sitting in the surgery waiting room, I witnessed the inherently good nature of the medical profession -- the interaction with patients and being able to treat and comfort them and their families. I felt there was an unmatched value present in the medical profession that just doesn't exist in the legal field, or any other field for that matter. (Not to mention that there were many people that came up to me and said I that have the right demeanor to enter medicine - that I'm observant, compassionate, and methodical.)

Being that I am in my mid-20's and time isn't slowing down any, I am trying to reach a decision on my future. My heart says to persevere and go after medicine, while my mind says that a rational choice would be to go into law. If anyone has any advice I am all ears.